Blogs > Jack McCaffery's blog

Jack McCaffery is the lead sports columnist for the Daily Times and He has spent several decades covering everything from the Phillies, Eagles, Flyers and Sixers, to college hoops, to high school sports in Delco.

Thursday, January 17, 2013

Trout, Garcia, Hamels at Sports Writers Banquet

An impressive head table is in store for the 109th Sports Writers Dinner Jan. 28. Tickets are available.



This, from the organization:

Philly boxer Danny Garcia will take off his gloves and pick up a trophy later this month. Garcia has been named the Philadelphia Pro Athlete of the Year, it was announced by PSWA president Ron Corbin of KYW NewsRadio. Garcia will accept the honor at the Philadelphia Sports-Writers Association’s 109th annual Sports Awards Dinner on Monday, January 28, 2013 at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, on Route 70 in Cherry Hill.
Garcia won all three of his 2012 bouts, starting with a unanimous decision over Erik Morales to take the vacant WBC championship, then stopping WBA champ Amir Khan in the fourth round of their unification bout. For good measure, he knocked out Morales in a rematch several months later. Garcia’s career record is an impressive 25-0 with 16 knockouts, and he will defend his titles against Zab Judah this February.
Other prestigious awardees announced earlier include Los Angeles Angels centerfielder Mike Trout (Pro Athlete of the Year), Phillies pitching ace Cole Hamels and his wife, Heidi (Humanitarians of the Year), the 2012 U.S. Women’s Olympic Gold Medal-winning soccer team (Team of the Year to be represented by Carli Lloyd), former Phillies shortstop and manager Larry Bowa (Living Legend) and Eagles offensive lineman Todd Herremans (Good Guy Award)
University of Delaware basketball star Elena Della Donne has previously been named the PSWA’s Outstanding Amateur Athlete. She will be honored along with Ed Snider, chairman of the Flyers’ parent company, Comcast-Spectacor, who will receive a lifetime achievement award for his humanitarian work. Retired Philadelphia 76ers forward Bobby Jones will accept a special award commemorating the 30th anniversary of the 1983 NBA champions, and former Phillies pitcher Tommy Greene will accept a similar award commemorating the 20th anniversary of the 1993 National League champions.
Other awards will be announced soon, as will a couple of memorable surprise presentations and some “Special Achievement” awards. The most coveted award—Most Courageous—is kept secret until the night of the dinner, the oldest continuing sports awards banquet in the nation.
Tickets for the dinner at $95 apiece are available online at, or by sending a check payable to PSWA, c/o Robbie Kenney, Ticket Chairman, 110 Harrogate Drive., Lumberton, NJ 08048. Fans can also friend PSWA on Facebook. Doors to the banquet open at 5 P.M. with the dinner starting promptly at 6:30 P.M.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home