Blogs > Jack McCaffery's blog

Jack McCaffery is the lead sports columnist for the Daily Times and He has spent several decades covering everything from the Phillies, Eagles, Flyers and Sixers, to college hoops, to high school sports in Delco.

Wednesday, January 8, 2014

Three Hall of Famers at PSWA dinner

CHERRY HILL, N.J. --- Three Hall of Famers --- Bill Barber, Ryne Sandberg and Wayne Hardin --- will be at the head table Jan. 27 for the 110th Philadelphia Sports Writers Dinner at the Crowne Plaza Hotel.

Barber will receive the PSWA's Living Legend Award and will be among several members of the Flyers' 1974 team honored on the 40th anniversary of their Stanley Cup.

Sandberg will be saluted as he enters his first full season as the Phillies manager.

Hardin, the former Temple coach, will be recognized for his recent induction into the College Football Hall of Fame.

Other guests include Jason Avant of the Eagles, who will receive the Good Guy Award and former Eagles general manager Jimmy Murray, who will receive a lifetime Humanitarian Award for his dedication to the Ronald McDonald House program for families of severely ill children.

Also, there will be the annual revelation of the Most Courageous Athlete --- a nationally recognized award.

The banquet is open to the public. Tickets for the banquet are priced at $95 and are available at the door and at



Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home